Assessment & Award

Please find brief information on the various Edexcel Programmes taught at different levels. For eligibility information please refer to Admissions link on the website
Edexcel BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma – 180 credits
The 180-credit BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma extends and deepens the specialist work-related focus from the BTEC Level 3 90-credit Diploma and the BTEC Level 3 Diploma. There is potential for the qualification to prepare learners for appropriate direct employment in the vocational sector and it is suitable for those who have decided that they clearly wish to enter a particular specialist area of work. It is broadly equivalent to three GCE A Levels

Some learners may wish to gain the qualification in order to enter a specialist area of employment or to progress to a higher education foundation degree, HND or other professional development programme

Other learners may want to extend the specialist nature of the subjects they studied on the Level 3 BTEC Diploma or another programme of study

The predecessor qualification to the BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma is the Edexcel Level 3 BTEC National Diploma accredited onto the National Qualifications Framework, which has the same equivalences, overall size and focus to the revised QCF-accredited qualification

Edexcel BTEC Level 4 & 5 – Higher National Diploma – 240 credits
Edexcel BTEC Higher Nationals are designed to provide a specialist vocational programme, linked to professional body requirements and National Occupational Standards where appropriate. They offer a strong, sector-related emphasis on practical skills development alongside the development of requisite knowledge and understanding. The qualifications provide a thorough grounding in the key concepts and practical skills required in their sector and their national recognition by employers allows direct progression to employment.

A key progression path for Edexcel BTEC HNC and HND learners is to the second or third year of a degree or honours degree programme, depending on the match of the Edexcel BTEC Higher National units to the degree programme in question. The Edexcel BTEC HNC and HND in Business offer a progression route to the professional qualifications offered by various professional bodies in the business sector.

The Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND in Business is a qualification with a minimum of 240 credits of which 125 are mandatory core. The Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND programme must contain a minimum of 125 credits at level 5.

Assessment and grading for BTEC
All units are internally assessed in the BTEC qualifications in this specification.

All assessment for the BTEC qualifications in this specification is criterion referenced, based on the achievement of specified learning outcomes. Each unit within the qualification has specified assessment and grading criteria which are to be used for grading purposes. A summative unit grade can be awarded at pass, merit or distinction:
To achieve a ‘pass’ a learner must have satisfied all the pass assessment criteria
To achieve a ‘merit’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the merit grading criteria
To achieve a ‘distinction’ a learner must additionally have satisfied all the distinction grading criteria.

Learners who complete the unit but who do not meet all the pass criteria are graded ‘unclassified’.

Grading domains
The grading criteria are developed in relation to grading domains which are exemplified by a number of indicative characteristics at the level of the qualification.

There are four BTEC grading domains:
Application of knowledge and understanding
Development of practical and technical skills
Personal development for occupational roles
Application of generic skills.

Calculation of grades
Edexcel will automatically calculate the qualification grade for learners when the learner unit grades are submitted by a centre. The overall grade is calculated based on the rules of combination for the qualification, in the following way:
The mandatory units are selected and the points allocated and credit applied as in the following table
The best graded optional units are then selected, within the rules of combination 3. If the amount of credit needed for the qualification is within a higher graded unit, Edexcel will utilise the proportion of the unit to complete the overall grade calculation. Any surplus credits will be listed on the Notification of Performance.

The qualification is comprised of units with defined credits (this is estimated as being one-tenth of the learning time needed for an average learner) at an ascribed level. The overall qualification is determined by defined rules of combination as prescribed in the specifications. All units are graded as Pass, Merit and Distinction. Using the grading grid, assignments are created by centres to enable learners to be able to meet the criteria at Pass, Merit or Distinction; to gain an overall unit grade of Merit all the Pass criteria and all the Merit criteria must be achieved, and to achieve the overall grade of Distinction all the Pass, Merit and Distinction criteria must be achieved. To gain the unit learners must achieve, as a minimum, the Pass grade; the Pass grade is in effect the gaining of the credit for the unit, and this contributes to the overall qualification grade. All units must be passes within the rules of combination to achieve the overall qualification. Please note that – unlike the NQF BTEC Firsts and Nationals where there was compensation (learners passing the qualification by compensating for not passing a unit(s) having gained Merit or Distinction grades in another unit(s)) – all units must be passed to achieve the qualification.